Books that Keep me Hooked: An Introduction

Warning: This post does not include a book review. Future posts in this category will.

If you suffer from Lupus or any other auto-immune disease, you may be familiar with the word ‘cortisone’. Cortisone. Just writing it makes me shudder. Cortisone is what doctors give you to stop something from getting worse (like your body eating itself) but can’t actually cure. Like a band aid. But, unlike a band aid, it has a ridiculous amounts of side effects, specially when you’re taking high doses of it.

These are some of the most common side effects: upset stomach, headache, dizziness, menstrual changes, trouble sleeping, increased appetite, or weight gain…etc. But, to me, the worst thing is the mental cloudiness. This is when you can understand everything, but find it hard to put your thoughts into words when communicating. It’s very frustrating.

giphy (2).gif

But there are three things I can do that have really helped me pass the time: reading, watching TV and playing video games. So, in this category, I would like to write about the books I’ve read/ I’m reading that have hooked me into the story and I have really enjoyed.

I would like to write a book review once a week, but given it’s hard to find page-turners, I may not always be able to do so. I care more about writing about things worth writing about than just writing. So, if I don’t have a book I can write about, I will write about a movie. And If I don’t have that either, I will write about something else.

In the meantime, feel free to comment with book recommendations. I’m always up for reading something!

Leave a Reply

